The University of Arizona
Home Scientific Advisory Board
Scientific Advisory Board Print E-mail

Image showing test tubes


The University of Arizona Arthritis Center (UAAC) scientific advisory board, established by Eric P. Gall, MD, UAAC interim director, has been started with the goal of reestablishing some of the interdisciplinary cooperative activities that are an important part of the UAAC. The UAAC’s original success as a National Institutes of Health-funded multipurpose center was propelled by the interdisciplinary connections, cooperative activities and relationships between the UAAC, academic leaders at the Arizona Health Sciences Center and community leaders.


The overall goal of the UAAC is to provide interdisciplinary research, educational activities and community service in the areas of arthritis, rheumatic disease, musculoskeletal medicine and autoimmune disease. The purpose of the Scientific Advisory Board will be to understand the ongoing issues in the areas outlined above at the University of Arizona and its affiliate institutions and in the communities of Arizona.


Individuals serving on the UAAC Scientific Advisory Board also will play an important part in the future of the AAC by helping establish a framework for the new director when he or she is recruited. Beginning in September, board meetings will be held every two to three months. As board members get acquainted with one another and begin to explore potential collaborative efforts, the schedule will become more regular.


For more information on the UAAC Scientific Advisory Board, call (520) 626-5026


    Current Members:

  • Miranda Adelman, PhD
  • Manfred Albrecht, MD
  • David Armstrong, MD
  • Tammy Bassford, MD
  • Edward K. Berghausen, MD
  • Michael Dohm, MD
  • John Ehiri, MD
  • Mindy Fain, MD
  • Janet Funk, PhD
  • Eric P. Gall, MD - Chair
  • Scott Going, PhD
  • Rafael Grau, MD
  • Betty Guenther
  • Randy Horwitz, MD, PhD
  • Paul Howard, MD
  • Julie Johnson
  • C. Kent Kwoh, MD
  • Richard Lane, MD
  • Dan Latt, MD
  • Jeffrey Lisse, MD
  • Victoria Maizes, MD
  • Michael Maricic, MD
  • Margaret Miller, MD
  • Bijan Najafi, PhD
  • Janko Nikolich, MD
  • John Ruth, MD
  • Sujata Sarkar, MD
  • David Wayne Smith, Ed.D
  • Esther Sternberg, MD
  • J.Stephen Strong, MD
  • John Szivek, PhD
  • Mihra Taljonovic, MD
  • Ronald Watson, MD
  • Karen Weihs, MD